what we’ve been up to :: part 1, the birthday party

I am always telling people that I’m no Martha Stewart.  The older I get, the more I realize I’m just not one of those women who can juggle a million balls in the air.  I get overwhelmed fairly easily and have to keep my commitments to a minimum or I become paralyzed from being overloaded.  So, that’s my excuse (I would say reason, but I hear all of you naysayers shouting “excuse, excuse!”) for not keeping up with our family blog.  Although I promised myself I wouldn’t say yes to everything when we moved here, I have not been good at saying no.  Not like I had hoped, anyway.  And so, for awhile I was stretched a bit too thin and something had to give.  The blog was the obvious choice.  Now that things are calming down again and there are less balls in the air, I am excited to write an update on what we’ve been up to for the past month!

I’m happy to announce that we survived our first sleepover.  Why?  Because NO ONE slept over!  🙂  None of the boys were quite ready.  I was very relieved.  Although we had a blast at Grant’s birthday party, I’m not sure I could have handled the nuttiness much longer that evening.  It was WILD!  We’re really happy with the friends Grant has chosen though.  They were really well mannered, sweet boys that got along SO well.  I was truly impressed and complimented them to their moms when they came to get them that evening.

Biggest hit of the party:  cupcakes made by my friend Lisa Arnold!  She just started her own business, “Simply Divine Cupcakes.”  If you are in the Northern Virginia area, you NEED to check out her beautiful (and delicious) creations!  Check out these Super Mario cupcakes she made for Grant’s party.  So adorable!

But I’m getting ahead of myself…

We started with Wii.  Super Mario Bros was the theme of the party, after all.  The boys were all very into it and I’m convinced, had I let them, they would have played all night.  But I bribed them off the Wii with pizza (and the cupcakes).  It worked well, thankfully!

We followed with presents and then, a trip down to the small pond at the end of our street.  The boys were convinced they could find and catch a frog.  Although their mission  was not successful, they had an absolute blast!

(And no, Avary had NO trouble dealing with a house full of boys.  She was quite comfortable with the crowd! )

I was so happy to be able to give Grant a fun birthday party.  We rarely do parties for the kids because of the expense.  Typically, it’s more fun (less stressful and less expensive) to just get away as a family for a weekend trip.  But Grant is getting older and friends are becoming more important to him, so I was glad to be able to do something simple that made him so happy.

Coming soon–what we’ve been up to :: part 2, memorial day

4 thoughts on “what we’ve been up to :: part 1, the birthday party

  1. Oh my goodness! You should have no guilt feelings about not keeping up with your blog! I think you juggle a great many balls at a time and do it very gracefully.

  2. I am the same way with being overloaded. I think I’ve spent a good deal of my life in overwhelm mode, but I am getting better at listening and doing what God wants instead of being (as much of) a slave to the tyranny of the urgent. Hang in there! No is a good word! 🙂
    Looks like everyone had fun! What wonderful cupcakes! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for the little “hello lisa cupcakes!” Now, in my humble opinion, I feel you can’t get enough of me telling you how wonderful your photography is. I can “feel” the moment.

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

