small wonders

It’s taken me a long time to decide what I want to be when I grow up.  Some people know from a very young age, but I had to hit 30 to have enough self awareness to know what I was really good at and what I really enjoy.  Finally, at 32, I think I have a plan.  🙂

My goal is to get a job teaching at a preschool in the fall.  I’m really excited about this possibility and I’m praying for the right fit for me, and for Avary.  Just redid my resume, so now I just have to muster the courage to actually hit the street and introduce myself to every preschool director in the area.  The introvert in me is wishing there was another way, but I don’t think it’s avoidable.  🙂

My other goal is to start my own photography business.  We took the first step by buying a new camera.  (I say “we” because I never would have done it without my husband’s encouragement.)  But a great camera a good photographer does not make!  I have so much to learn, so I’m spending a lot of time reading blogs, articles, books, and anything else I an get my hands on.  Thankfully, my kids are pretty good sports about being practice subjects.  🙂

Today, my friend Brenda came over for coffee and I took some pictures of her precious 6 week old son, Marcus.  He is such a well behaved baby and incredibly adorable too!  Here is a sample of the photos I took…

And, if you haven’t already guessed, I’ve (probably prematurely) already decided on a name for my business…”Small Wonders Photography”.  It’s big for me to announce this, because I’ve been nervous to say it out loud.  Now I feel like it’s out there for people to laugh at, judge, hold me accountable to…  (I know, I’m far too concerned what people think.)

Thanks to Brenda for letting me borrow her sweet Marcus this morning!  I’m also working on another blog that will feature more new pics entitled, “while daddy’s away…”  🙂

**I apologize if this blog was poorly written.  Do you ever have those days when you can’t write a lick?  Well, that’s me today.  I wrote and rewrote this silly thing several times and finally gave up.  Bleh.

23 thoughts on “small wonders

  1. So, so sweet Misty! Fantastic job! I emailed my family the pics you took of Keegan and they LOVED them! They are all asking for prints and want to see more of your work 🙂 I love the name for your business and I can’t wait to see it grow!

  2. Amanda, thanks for the encouragement. You honestly have a lot to do with me having the courage to post this blog!

    Lauren, any compliment from you is worth a million. You are so very talented and already a pro, so I feel honored that you would like anything I do! Can’t wait to have coffee and learn from you!

  3. Misty, those pics are fantastic. So proud of you. Nice announcement on the name. I thought you were going to end up changing it, but I like it. You’re going to be great at this. ^_^

  4. What a perfect name!! I hope the requests for your services start rolling in!

    Thank you SO much for using my little man as your muse today 🙂 He enjoyed it almost as much as I did! I just loved seeing your little ones love all over Marcus, too! You can already tell what loving little hearts they have!

  5. Stan, without you, I would never have followed this dream.

    Bethany, thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Brenda, it was my pleasure, believe me!

  6. I admire you for finally figuring out what you want to do when you grow up!!! I’m hoping to get there some day myself! 🙂 Great pictures and the name is fitting. You want pictures of all those moments in your life big and small! I think you made an excellent and creative choice. Good luck!

  7. WOW! Those photos are amazing!! I was just touching up some VERY old photos this morning…how I wish we had such wonderful photos from when our kids were small. This generation is so fortunate to have fantastic photography available! Misty, you really do have talent! And I love the name…precious!!

  8. Misty – your photos are great. I wish we lived closer so you could use my little guy and the guy on the way as subjects. Good luck with the teaching – you will do great.

  9. Misty, I love the name! Also, I was going to say the 3rd one was my favorite too… but I also really like the tiny little foot 🙂

    Piedmont is doing a photography workshop on May 3rd. They say space is limited and you should go to the athletic center to register quickly. No cost is posted so maybe it’s free?
    http://piedlink.org/announcement_detail.asp?id=71

  10. Hi Misty! Your pictures are beautiful. I especially love the one of his foot (I heart baby feet).

    I totally know what you’re saying about writing…I always seem to have pearls of wisdom or hilarious commentary come to me when there is no way I can write it down (like being stuck on 50…or any road in NoVA). Then there are the days I cannot put a sentence together to save my life. I think your entry sounded great 🙂

  11. Misty – stop worrying so much about what other people think. 🙂 YOU ARE AN AMAZING PERSON! We all know it and it’s time for you to start believing it. Believe in yourself & believe in God’s plan for you. You have many amazing talents. You make people feel very comfortable…good for pre-schoolers and photography subjects too. You’re kind, patient and just plain wonderful. ❤

    I love the name of your new business! Go for it!! What's the worst that can happen?

    Love & miss you~

    Robin

    • Thank you for telling her this Robin. I keep saying it, but it’s good for her to hear from others. Thanks for the backup. ^_^

  12. Misty!!! I am so very proud of you…since the moment I started reading your blog, I have thought, wow, Misty should take pics for people!!! You can practice with my little divas anytime…and please feel free to use this scenery while we’re renting this “rustic” home…I am praying for your success sista!!!

  13. Those pictures are awesome! He is an adorable little guy!

    I love the name of the business! I know you will do awesome! I am praying for this and for the teaching job as well!

  14. Thank you, to all of you. These words of encouragement are priceless to me. Honestly. It’s such a blessing to have friends and family…near and far…cheering for me! I love you!

    (Mom, you have always believed in me…Thank you!)

    (Robin, I miss you so much. You’re the kind of friend who, when I’m with you, I feel invincible. Your words of encouragement are just that powerful. Don’t you guys wanna move to DC? 🙂

  15. Misty,

    What beautiful pics!!! You did such a great job at capturing Brenda’s baby, Marcus. He is a cutie!!! I am so happy that you will be starting a photography business one of these days. The name is so perfect!!! Let me know when you do start your business and I will definitely be one of your customers (some pregnancy or baby pics, I hope).:-)

    Blessings,
    Wendi

    P.S. When it comes to writing, I totally know where you are coming from. I do have those days where I can’t write a lick too (just take a look at my FB page and I sometimes have so many typos. haha). I think we all experience a case of writers block from time to time.;-) You are a great writer, though!!!:-)

  16. These are stunning. I know I am I little behind in telling you that, here, but wow. Well, and you know what I think about teaching…you’ll be amazing. Keep me posted, sweetie! Love you.

  17. Awesome! Your endeavor will be rewarding. My “personal photographer” is Rhiannon Trask and she is embarking on a similar journey as you. I have just sent you a page suggestion on FB so you can see what she is doing.

Leave a Reply

