Meal Plan

I’ve had several people request an example of the meal plans I make for our family.  (I’ve been a little hesitant to post these because it will reveal just how unoriginal I truly am!)  But I’m also selfishly thinking that there may be some of you who will kindly share some meal ideas with me as well!  I am constantly on the search for new, kid friendly meals for our family.  So, here is an example of what the Roddas will be eating for the next two weeks.  Enjoy and then share an idea with me for my next 2 week meal plan!

01.04     Lunch: PB Sandwiches, goldfish and bananas    Dinner:  Lasagna, Salad, Garlic Rolls

01.05     Lunch: Chick. Nuggets, Mac n Chz, Veggies      Dinner: Roast (in crock pot), Mashed Potatoes, Cream Corn

01.06     Lunch: Grilled Cheese and Apples                   Dinner: Chicken and Rice, Green Beans

01.07     Lunch: Leftovers/Sandwiches                          Dinner: Meatloaf, Mashed Pot., Steamed Broccoli or Corn

01.08     Lunch: Turkey Wraps, Grapes                         Dinner: Crock Pot Beef Tips, Baked Potatoes, Green Beans

01.09     Lunch: Tacos                                                Dinner: Family Night Out or Order Pizza!

01.10     Lunch: Spaghetti, Garlic Bread                         Dinner: Leftovers/Wraps/Sandwiches

01.11     Lunch: PB Sandwich, Goldfish, Bananas             Dinner: Enchiladas

01.12     Lunch: Chicken Nuggets, Mac n Chz, veggies       Dinner: Roast Beef with Aju, chips

01.13     Lunch: Grilled Chz, Apples                                  Dinner: Cheeseburger Roll Up, Salad

01.14     Lunch: Wraps, Grapes                                       Dinner: Chicken in crock pot, Baked Potatoes, Green Beans

01.15     Lunch: Sandwiches/Leftovers                            Dinner: Tacos

01.16     Lunch: Spaghetti, Garlic Bread                           Dinner: Ham Steak, Mashed Potatoes, Corn/Steamed Veggies

I try to keep lots of raw veggies on hand as well as various fruits to supplement meals and for snack time.  I don’t plan breakfasts, but keep whole wheat bagels, waffles, plenty of eggs and bacon and of course, cereal, on hand.  For most people it probably seems as if corn and green beans are overused.  I agree!  However, I do often make steamed cauliflower and broccoli or some peas, along with a meal and just encourage the kids to try them.  (They will eat almost any fruit, but are very picky about their veggies, unless they are raw.)  I also have a whole other list of lunches for Grant (he takes his lunch every day), which I will probably share sometime.  If you are interested in any of my recipes, just let me know.  As you can see, most of what I make is pretty standard, but I do have a few “secrets.”  🙂

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and ideas!

5 thoughts on “Meal Plan

  1. Hey Misty

    Loved that you posted this I am someone who steals ideas like this… the funny thing that looks a lot like what I make… haha.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. We try to rotate between Alfredo and Spaghetti I make my own sauce that’s really easy… it is so good, but I use the same kind of veggies, and garlic bread or toast…. that way we can rotate between chicken and hamburger too.

  3. Misty,
    Sorry for making three posted I am really bad at that…. here are some ideas after I thought about it. We basically do almost everything you guys do except my stuff usually does not go in a crock pot because I did not have one. Got one for Christmas though so I am excited!!!

    Here are some other things we do on a regular basis.
    We have Grilled Cheese with Tomato Soup or Chicken Noddle Soup
    We do Cheese Crisps, Tortillas with Cheese and you can add Salsa, chicken, steak, whatever you’d like. Then I stick it under the broiler for a couple minutes

    We do BBQ ribs in the broiler. It’s a Sunday afternoon special for us and we use STUBBS BBQ sauce it’s expensive but very good ( i don’t usually like BBQ sauce)

    I don’t know if you have a COSTCO out there but we have made our own taquitos using Shredded Beef (that we buy at COSTCO) and corn tortillas, fry in Veg. Oil

    ON-COR (brand name) has a series of frozen foods, they have Salisbury Steaks, which are the only ones out of the series that we like since we don’t typically like frozen foods. Anyway they are cheap and we make them with Corn bread, Rice and Veggies.

    We do hot dogs, mac n cheese for lunches

    Chiplote Hamburgers with Cheese Fries are a new favorite. Ground up hamburger (we have an indoor grill thing) add Chiplote pepper (take the seeds out) then I make waffle fries or steak fries and melt velveetta cheese on them, add a little paprika

    And we try to have steak once a month, with beans, baked potatoes and french bread.

    Homemade donuts are always good cheap non flavor able biscuits bought in the cold section with the cookie dough, croissant rolls, etc.. and roll em up balls fry em in veg. oil and dip is powdered sugar, sugar, cinnamon whatever.

    That’s all for now.

    I am looking for a good Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup and Baked Ziti recipe so if you happen to have those I’d love to try em.

  4. You can always hop over to my blog on Saturdays I post our meal plan. I started posting mine because a friend of mine was struggling with meal planning and wanted to see what I do (she admits to sometimes stealing almost the entire thing!) and I post recipes too with it. We are standard too because sometimes it is easier to fix what I know the kids will eat then fight with them the whole meal because they don’t like it!

    We should swap recipes sometime too!! I am always looking for new ideas that are kid-friendly too!

Leave a Reply

